Science and Heritage Programme

Programme Staff

Programme Director

May Cassar
Professor May Cassar

Telephone: +44(0) 20 7679 1780
Email May Cassar

Professor May Cassar is Director of the Science and Heritage Programme.  In this role she supports AHRC on the EU ERA-Net Net-Heritage project (2008-2011) where she advises on the development of the Net-Heritage Observatory.  In her capacity as Programme Director, May was appointed by the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills to represent the United Kingdom on the Executive Board of the EU Joint Programming Initiative (JPI), Cultural Heritage and Global Change: a new Challenge for Europe whose aim is to co-ordinate the national research programmes of EU member states.  May is leading on the development of the European Strategic Research Agenda for this area in this JPI.  May was formerly the Special Adviser to the House of Lords Science and Technology Sub-Committee Inquiry on Science and Heritage (2005-2006).   May is Director of the Centre for Sustainable Heritage at the Bartlett School of Graduate Studies at University College London where her areas of research interest are heritage science policy, climate change, environmental management and preventive conservation.

Programme Coordinator

Debbie Williams
Debbie Williams

Telephone: +44(0) 20 7679 1674
Email Debbie Williams