XClose

RESEARCH DOMAINS

FOOD, METABOLISM AND SOCIETY

Home bam
Menu

Experts

The recently established Food, Metabolism and Society domain is keen to work with - and learn from - as many stakeholders as possible. If you are a UCL researcher and would like to become a member of the domain, please contact Dr Aarathi Prasad (a.prasad@ucl.ac.uk).


Food, Metabolism and Society Domain Members

Name

UCL Department

Contact

Research Interests

Professor Arne Akbar
Professor of Immunology
Division of Infection and Immunity, Faculty of Medical Sciences a.akbar@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 2172
Human T cell differentiation and longevity; loss of immunity in ageing.
Dr Nazif Alic
Senior Research Associate
UCL Institute of Healthy Ageing, Faculty of Life Sciences n.alic@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 2219
Ageing; programming of lifespan by unhealthy diets; transcriptional regulation.
Professor Jurg Bahler
Chair in Molecular Systems Biology
Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment, Faculty of Life Sciences j.bahler@ucl.ac.uk
0203 108 1602
 
Professor Francois Balloux
Chair in Computational Biology Systems Biology
Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment, Faculty of Life Sciences f.balloux@ucl.ac.uk
0203 108 1601
Computational genomic tools; genetic diversity evolution.
Professor Rachel Batterham
Professor of Obesity, Diabetes & Endocrinology
Department of Metabolism and Experimental Therapeutics, Faculty of Medical Sciences r.batterham@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 0991

Obesity; neural/endocrine control of feeding; bariatric surgery.
Dr Robert Biel
Senior Lecturer
Development Planning Unit, The Bartlett r.biel@ucl.ac.uk International political economy; systems theory; sustainable development; urban agriculture.
Dr Aiduan Borrion
Lecturer in Sustainable Infrastructure
Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering  a.borrion@ucl.ac.uk  Food waste, closed loop waste-energy-food systems, urban farming, food sustainability, circular economy and localised food systems.
Professor Frances Brodsky (chair)
Director, Division of Biosciences

Division of Biosciences, Faculty of Life Sciences f.brodsky@ucl.ac.uk
020 3549 5464
Cell biology; Insulin response; Muscle physiology, Clathrin.
Dr Filipe Gomes Cabreiro
Lecturer in Metabolism and Metabolic Diseases
Division of Biosciences, Faculty of Life Sciences f.cabreiro@ucl.ac.uk Gut microbiota in metabolic disease.
Dr Ceclia Caulcott
Vice-Provost (Enterprise and London)
UCL Innovation and Enterprise  c.caulcott@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 6210 
 
Dr Paul Chadwick
Senior Teaching Fellow
UCL Centre for Behaviour Change p.chadwick@ucl.ac.uk Behavioural change for metabolic health; clinical psychology.
Professor Nishi Chaturvedi
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology (Cardiometabolic Disease)
Institute of Cardiovascular Science, Faculty of Population Health Sciences n.chaturvedi@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 9431
Etiology and prevention of diabetes; metabolic function in ethnic minorities.
Professor John Christodoulou
Professor in Biological NMR Spectroscopy
Department of Structural and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences j.christodoulou@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 2375
Protein folding; mass spectrometry methods; metabolomics.
Dr Carole Dalin
NERC Research Fellow
UCL Institute of Sustainable Resources, The Bartlett  c.dalin@ucl.ac.uk  
Marianne Jennifer Datiles
Doctoral Student
UCL School of Pharmacy  mjdatiles@gmail.com  
Ellie Doney
Researcher and Doctoral Student
Slade School of Fine Art e.doney@ucl.ac.uk   
Professor Michael Duchen
Professor of Physiology
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences m.duchen@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 3207
Mitochondrial biology and cell signaling.
Dr Lazaros Foukas
Lecturer
UCL Institute of Healthy Ageing, Faculty of Life Sciences l.foukas@ucl.ac.uk Carbohydrate and lipid homeostasis in ageing.
Professor Dorian Fuller
Professor of Archaeobotany
UCL Institute of Archaeology  d.fuller@ucl.ac.uk   
Dr Matthew Gage
BHF Senior Research Fellow
Department of Metabolism and Experimental Therapeutics, Faculty of Medical Sciences m.gage@ucl.ac.uk Macrophage nuclear receptors in atherosclerosis; endothelium in diabetes.
Dr Paul Gissen
Professorial Research Associate
UCL GOS Institute of Child Health, Faculty of Population Health Sciences p.gissen@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 3531
Protein misfolding/misolcalisation in disease; inborn errors of metabolism (CIEM).
Dr Alex Gould
Honorary Professor
The Francis Crick Institute and UCL Division of Biosciences alex.gould@crick.ac.uk Regulation of growth and metabolism.
Professor Ivan Gout
Professor of Cancer Biochemistry
Department of Structural and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences i.gout@ucl.ac.uk  
Dr George Grimble
Principal Teaching Fellow
Division of Medicine, Faculty of Medical Sciences g.grimble@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 2185
Diet and metabolic disease.
Professor Sue Hamilton
Director, UCL Institute of Archaeology
UCL Institute of Archaeology ioa-director@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 7483
Agricultural archaeology.
Professor Rebecca Hardy
Scientific Programme Leader
Institute of Epidemiology and Health, Faculty of Population Health Sciences rebecca.hardy@ucl.ac.uk
020 7670 5713
Prenatal development; childhood growth; adult BMI trajectories; trajectories of physical function and influences on later health and ageing.
Professor Michael Heinrich
Professor of Pharmacognosy 
UCL School of Pharmacy  m.heinrich@ucl.ac.uk Herbal medicine interface, the anthropology of food, diabetes and metabolic syndrome prevention and ethnopharmacology. 
Professor Aroon Hingorani
Director, UCL Institute of Cardiovascular Science
Institute of Cardiovascular Science, Faculty of Population Health Sciences a.hingorani@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 3080
Genetic epidemiology of metabolic and cardiovascular disease.
Professor Glen Jeffery
Professor of Neuroscience 
UCL Institute of Ophthalmology g.jeffery@ucl.ac.uk
020 7608 6837
 
Dr Nicholas Lesica
Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow
Ear Institute, Faculty of Brain Sciences  n.lesica@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 8979
Neuroscience and healthy eating. 
Professor Georgina Mace
Professor of Biodiversity and Ecosystems
Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research, Division of Biosciences  g.mace@ucl.ac.uk
020 3108 1125
 
Dr Gustav Milne
Honorary Senior Lecturer
UCL Institute of Archaeology g.milne@ucl.ac.uk Urban living and health; river Thames archeology.
Professor Mark Miodownik
Professor of Materials and Society

Department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering Sciences m.miodownik@ucl.ac.uk Materials engineering; arts and humanities materials research.
Professor Richard Mott
Weldon Professor of Computational and Statistical Genetics
 Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment, Faculty of Life Sciences r.mott@ucl.ac.uk  
Professor Michael Munday
Professor of Pharamceutical Biochemistry

UCL School of Pharmacy michael.munday@ucl.ac.uk  
Dr Kaori O'Connor
Honorary Senior Research Associate
Department of Anthropology k.o'connor@ucl.ac.uk
0207 636 6970
Anthropology and culture; history of food and feeding behaviour.
Professor Dan Osborn
Professor of Human Ecology

Department of Earth Sciences,
Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
dan.osborn1@ucl.ac.uk  
Dr Aaron Parkhurst
Teaching Fellow in Medical Anthropology 
Department of Anthropology  a.parkhust@ucl.ac.uk  Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes; Culture and Chronic Illness; Health and Urban living. 
Professor Dame Linda Partridge
Professorial Research Fellow
Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment, Faculty of Life Sciences linda.partridge@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 4380

Genetic determinants of ageing; ageing response to dietary restriction.
Dr Richard Pearson
Reader of Biodiversity
Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research, Division of Biosciences richard.pearson@ucl.ac.uk
0203 108 7691
Biogeography and biodiversity of plants and animals.
Dr Markus Ralser The Francis Crick Institute and University of Cambridge markus.ralser@crick.ac.uk Dynamic evolution of metabolic networks.
Dr Gul Deniz Salali
Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Department of Anthropology  guldeniz.salali.12@ucl.ac.uk  
Dr Joanne Santini
Reader in Microbiology
Department of Structural and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences j.santini@ucl.ac.uk
020 7631 6675
Microbial metabolism and its impact on the environment and human health.
Francesca Scotti
Research Associate

UCL School of Pharmacy

francesca.scotti.11@ucl.ac.uk  
Professor Stephen Shennan
Professor of Theoretical Archaeology
UCL Institute of Archaeology s.shennan@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 4739
Evolutionary perspectives on cultural change.
Professor Elizabeth Shephard
Professorial Research Associate
Department of Structural and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences e.shephard@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 2321
Drug metabolism; FMOs in energy metabolism.
Dr Andrew Smith
Senior Lecturer in Innate Immunity
Eastman Dental Institute, Faculty of Medical Sciences  andrew.m.smith@ucl.ac.uk   
Professor Surjit Kaila Singh Srai
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Department of Structural and Molecular Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences k.srai@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 2642
Iron transport and metabolism.
Professor Gyorgy Szabadkai
Professor of Physiology

Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences g.szabadkai@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 7362
Mitochondria in cellular stress responses and disease.
Professor Mark Thomas
Professor of Evolutionary Genetics
Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment, Faculty of Life Sciences m.thomas@ucl.ac.uk
020 7679 2286
Evolution of genes involved in nutrition.
Professor Geraint Thomas
Professor of Biochemistry
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, Faculty of Life Sciences g.thomas@ucl.ac.uk
020 3549 5456

Phospholipids; computational analysis of metabolism.
Professor Megan Vaughan
Professor of African History and Health
UCL Institute of Advanced Studies megan.vaughan@ucl.ac.uk

History of medicine and psychiatry in Africa; on the history of famine, food supply and gender relations.
Professor Jonathan Wells
Professor of Anthropology and Paediatric Nutrition
UCL GOS Institute of Child Health, Faculty of Population Health Sciences jonathan.wells@ucl.ac.uk Economic and environmental influences on metabolism.
Dr Mariia Yuneva
Programme Leader
The Francis Crick Institute mariia.yuneva@crick.ac.uk Oncogenes and tumor metabolism.